Peace and Quiet

My life had a hiccup yesterday, and as a woman who likes some privacy, I won’t go into great explanation.  It was one of those times where as you’re going through it you wonder if its the right decision, and because of habit and being in a comfort zone you almost want to stop it from occurring.  At the same time you have to wonder if things will be better once this passes and if that comfort zone was a mental facade.

As I went to sleep, no questions asked about why I was going to sleep so early, though the raging headache would have been the answer, I found it to be pleasantly quiet and comforting. Well, until I yelled at the kid in the next room to stop yelling at video games.  But he stopped and back into a wonderful slumber I went.  Finally, peace and quiet.

I woke at 4:45 am this morning to a cat doing the cat face slide thing against my cheek. I felt revived and recharged.  After running through the morning Facebook and email checks, I tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t. I was awake and there was no sense in fighting that.  So I did something I haven’t done in awhile: edited and wrote.

I pulled out Life by Chance and did some second draft revisions then wrote a chapter in The Pretty Words.  It felt great to be motivated and on fire since I haven’t felt that surge in awhile.  As I was writing in The Pretty Words, it came to me (via a character) that the comfort zone I was afraid of losing wasn’t really a comfort zone but more of a routine or habit that I was afraid to get out of, because . . . well because its what I knew.

As I sit here with the sun rising in front of me, literally, I can’t help but love the peace and quiet.  I love the ability to wake up refreshed and dive into writing.  I can’t wait to get home from work tonight and see what will inspire me into another chapter.  Hiccups, bumps in the road, they are turning points that jolt you into waking up because you were asleep at the wheel.

Things may be different.  Things may be scary. But things sure do feel great surrounded by all this peace and quiet. Now to try and catch a quick cat nap before work.

desertsunrise

Tania L Ramos, Author Staring at the Sun Rise

BeStillNovel.com
Facebook
Twitter

2 responses to “Peace and Quiet

  1. I really relate to this! Great piece which most of us understand.

Leave a Reply

