At a Loss for Words

What is a writer’s nightmare? I can rattle off a few: migraines, carpal tunnel, vision discrepancies–I suffered them all.  What now? Early linguistic Alzheimers.

I used to know a bazillion words! I was a walking thesaurus.  Need a synonym for mad, I had hundreds, right down to slang and witty urban sayings.  Now I sit around trying to figure out what word I am trying to find in the thesaurus.  I mean, how do you look up a word right at the tip of your tongue? It’s that word that sounds like the color blue and reminds me of kindergarten is not searchable on Thesaurus.com.  Should be!

It’s not even complicated words that I can’t always recall, sometimes it’s as simple as the word mad.  Seriously, brain? I have to keep a word log these days, something I can go to in a little journal to revive my brain from the word coma it has gone into. Author nightmare!

I can write through migraines.  Heck, I’ve plucked away the keyboard with one finger through carpal pain.  I even winced and squinted through one red, teary and exhausted eye to write one more chapter.  But how does one go about writing when they don’t remember something as simple as . . . what is that thingy I’m looking for again? Sounds like pink and makes me want to smile. Starts with a “W?”

Sometimes I wish Google was probed to my brain and could weed through what I’m thinking to find that thing on the tip of my tongue.

Tania L Ramos, Author–I Think.

Please stand by and watch this fun little trailer while I collect my thoughts.

9 responses to “At a Loss for Words

  1. I know exactly what you mean! Conversationally among friends I was always the one with the creative vocabulary, but now that I’m writing and attempting to not use the same descriptive adjectives over and over my brain goes blank. Early linguistic alzheimers. I like that and may steal it from you. See? Your brain came up with that, so you must not be too far gone.

  2. I get that ALL THE TIME. It’s infuriating. And it’s not even finding a creative way to say something. It will be a totally common word, and I’ll say something like:

    “My, you’re acting … what’s the word, you know what I mean …”
    “No, I don’t.”
    “… never mind.”

    • exactly. Simply words are the hardest to remember. I was going to get my brain tested, but someone told me I was just getting old. *sigh* Being told its a brain tumor may be easier to handle over the fact that i’m just getting old.

      • I hope it’s not a brain tumor!!!! Maybe we just need to exercise our brains more. I’ll have to drop by Goodlife and see if they have any trainers for that …

      • i played some game on Nintendo DS and it said my mental age was 30, which is 10 years younger than my actual age, but I’m not thrilled by that number at all. At least I look young, hehe.

  3. I hate it when that happens. Nothing is worse than sitting there staring at the screen waiting not for the story to come but for a simple word that mind has deleted the file on.

  4. *your mind. Sorry, can’t type this morning,LOL

Leave a Reply

