The Big Speaking Event

The day has come. Literally. It’s one a.m. on my coast, which means I am speaking before a large group in less than nine hours.  I should be asleep, but I keep looking out the window to see if I’ll be snowed in. Wouldn’t it just figure? My big speaking event and winter’s fury hits the California desert. Did that Phil, groundhog character see his shadow?

I’m not too nervous about speaking, although I refused to eat the homemade beans my mom made tonight. She’s trying to sabotage me. Who can concentrate on speaking with a rumble in the tummy? Well played mother, but I am on to your games.

In preparation, and total and complete procrastination, I had Daniel at Blackbird LSD create a type of bookstub for me. They are pretty sweet and will serve the purpose of being able to sell some book downloads.  I will also have some copies of “Be Still,” with me, although the talk centers around “Surviving the Writing Apocalypse.”

I will be speaking on point of view and the top errors authors make with point of view in the content of a book.  These lucky folks will also get a fun section on Collaborative Thinking, which was accidentally omitted from the book.  The California Writer’s Club, High Desert Branch will essentially get the elusive missing chapter.  Kind of cool if I say so myself.

So to prepare, I had my haircut, because first impressions only happen once.  I placed a back-up copy of my PowerPoint on thumb drive, made 40 copies of a handout with fun POV errors and a cheat sheet.  I counted out some change,charged the iPad, made sure my Square app was functioning, put together a giveaway goodie bag, and chewed on some Tums because where the homemade beans didn’t get me, the Blizzard from Dairy Queen did (ice cream).

All-in-all, I look forward to the big day and hope this will open up some new venues for me.  I will let you all know how this goes when I get home, and after the nap because I know I’ll be exhausted.  Fingers crossed that I don’t completely blow this or have some severe lactose intolerant episode at the podium.

Until this afternoon, send good vibes my way.

Tania L Ramos

2 responses to “The Big Speaking Event

  1. Good luck today, Tanya!! Kick some butt and enjoy yourself! 🙂

  2. Good luck! Enjoy the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

