Booktango: The New Experience

To date, I have written about my findings of publishing through Iuniverse, which is an assisted-publishing avenue.  To put out Surviving the Writing Apocalypse, I went a different route and chose to use Booktango.

My publicist and I had a long discussion on which way to distribute the manual.  There were many factors to this that were different from publishing Be Still.  The main difference is that Be Still is a fictional novel with some subjective fiction to it.  And, obviously, Surviving the Writing Apocalypse  is a non-fiction, self-help guide.  Already a vast difference there.

The next big difference is in the size of my wallet.  I had a decent expense account to put out, publicize, and market Be Still.  This year, my income is very limited, as is my time.  Which brings me up to difference number three: time. Last year, I was off work on disability and had all the time in the world to publicize, market, travel, promote etc.  This year, I am back to nursing and working full time (on part time wages, eck!). In fact, I only found time to write the manual when I managed to stay awake late hours after work. I love my sleep, so getting this manual out took dedication.

All these factors brought me to the decision that I was limited in every way to publishing a new book, so after much deliberation and counsel, I chose to go with the free method, by using Booktango.  I know, Amazon has a free method too, but after lots of research (and there was a lot), I discovered Barnes & Noble may start rejecting to sell books published by Amazon.  And it seems, many KDP authors are growing upset with some of the changes KDP is making.  Not to mention, I wasn’t thrilled with being stuck to one platform for any period of time before being able to distribute elsewhere.  I also truly like the idea of having bookstubs to hand out, like business cards, to groups I speak at, or for family and friends.

Lots of thought went into choosing Booktango, and I can only hope it was the right choice.  If Surviving the Writing Apocalypse is well received, then I will look into publishing a physical book next Spring/Summer.  For now, I will wait and see how it all goes and post about my experiences with Booktango in the exact same way I did with Iuniverse.  I will try to be unbiased and only deliver the facts as I experience them.

For this manual, I chose to go the free route, which means I did not get to see a preview of the book.  I can only hope it all went well.  I will order bookstubs and hold a free promo in the near future to officially release the book and the website.  I am currently looking for authors who would like to read the .docx version and give me feedback that can be featured on the website along with your name and book title. I need at least five readers for this. Please contact me at author@tanialramos.com for more information.

Stay tuned for all the happenings with the book and with using Booktango.

You can find Be Still through these links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Iuniverse

 

2 responses to “Booktango: The New Experience

  1. Hi Tania, I found your blog very interesting, and I look forward to any comments / feedback you have on using BookTango. As it stands now, I am seriously considering them for my next book. I went with Infinity for my first book and I will never use them again; hence, my peaked interest in BookTango. I wish you luck with your sales 🙂

    Alex

    • Thank you for reading. So far, my only concern is that they aren’t easy to use on the free service. You don’t get to see what the finished product looks like unless you buy it when it comes out. The book has come out on Amazon Kindle, Booktango website, and Kobo so far. Barnes & Noble and Ibook have not picked it up yet, so it does take time.

Leave a Reply

