Catching Up With Friends

Oh my word, it has been a while since I’ve been able to blog.  I apologize for a two week absence.  Life has been about as hectic as life can get.  But now that I have a free moment I would love to catch everyone up with what has been going on.

First off, and the biggest thing of all, my brother has finally come back home! It has been two years since he was sentenced to prison for a crime he did not commit.  I continue to stand by him and the facts that were never presented in court.  And as much as I love my country, I have learned to not put my faith in it but keep my faith with God.  Justice is not always just.  Justice is however very blind to many many things.  My brother has returned home just a little bitter, but anyone falsely imprisoned would be.  However, he has returned home the same man–and little brother–he was two years ago.  In fact, we didn’t skip a beat and picked up right where we left off.  I am so happy to have him home and have him razzing me about my novels.  He also saw his niece today whom he hasn’t seen since she was three . . . she is now five . . . and those kind of years are full of all kind of change.  Welcome home brother!

Second, I have secured a speaking and signing engagement at the Victorville Library Oct 17, 2012.  This is very exciting for me.  I am having a bunch of flyers and magnets delivered so I can start my advertising for it.  I have also volunteered to donate a copy of Be Still to each middle and high school who has at least one student or faculty member in attendance.  I’m really trying to help my community too.

Third, as of next tuesday I will be leaving my on-call position at the big hospital to work as a GI nurse at a small private endoscopy center.  The hours are better and full-time with benefits, so I have insurance and more time to be with family and write.  I will keep my on-call spot but only work one day at the hospital to aid in paying off my debt from publishing.  I’m excited and really hoping I will be able to write more.

Fourth, I have started working on a new book.  This one is a self-help guide for new authors in the 21st century.  There is a difference in today’s writing compared to say, 1990 when things like texting and video conferencing weren’t written into books.  This book will be more about content and narrative than grammar.  Why reinvent the grammar wheel . . . there are already so many books out there.  There are also many self-help books for authors, but most are dated and most do deal with grammar.  My hope is that this book will help new authors avoid all those mistakes I so tediously had to correct because I was wet behind the ear.  The book should be done by month’s end and hoping for an early 2013 release.

Fifth, and last, I have been working on a book trailer for Katherine Nader who’s book The Deadly Mark was just released.  I am also hoping to start a fun and exciting co-op for authors, musicians and artists in the indie community where music can be used in book trailers and linked back to the artist, as well as use cover art from new or aspiring graphic artists for book covers or music covers, which they can then use in their portfolio.  I guess it is a kind of bartering program when it comes down to it.

By the way, check out Katherine Nader’s cover photo (and click it to be linked to her Facebook page).  My excerpt about the book is on the front cover. I’ll post a review soon, but if you like period based novels, kings, princesses and the medieval likes then read read read The Deadly Mark.

The Deadly Mark, by Katherine Nader

5 responses to “Catching Up With Friends

  1. Whoa–great (bright) new look, I need shades! Good to see you back–I was just thinking about you a day or so ago, wondering if everything was okay (I was remembering your killer headaches). God bless you–love, Caddo

  2. Congrats on the new job, your brother’s return (seriously, can’t you appeal something like false imprisonment? That just seems so wrong … -_-), and on everything else as well 😀

    • Sorry for taking so long to reply, I’ve been having WordPress issues with my account (hacked, maybe). But, my brother has chosen his own path and how to continue in life. So much for him changed and so many doors are now closed. But, he is a survivor and saw a need in my life and has chosen to fill it and start his own publicity business. He has run out of the gate and already made so many important connections. He will soon represent several indie authors by promoting them in the California area, and then move on to other areas when his business grows. He’s been a great asset and hasn’t looked back once.

      • What a fantastic idea! I’m surprised more publicists haven’t taken up the road of helping out indie authors. Unless they have, and I just don’t know about it, haha. Wish him the best of luck for me — and good luck to you as well with your marketing! How go the book sales?

Leave a Reply

