Where To Go From Here

All this hype I have put out there has led up to this day: Being published.  Here I am, standing on the mountain of my own personal victory at having a book published, available for distribution, and available online at most major booksellers.  I haven’t stopped happy dancing since the day my book arrived and not sure I ever will.  But now that I am published, or self-published if you want to get all technical, I’m not sure where to go from here.  Now that I tell people I am published, authors are coming out of the woodwork.  Seriously, I hand out a flyer and someone will inevitably say, “I wrote a book once.” Then they tell me how they still have 500 copies sitting in the garage at home…for the past ten years.

I don’t want to be that story.  I channeled many of the social media outlets, spent countless hours comparing PR websites and marketing information.  Spent more hours drawing up a TIS sheet, flyer, info about the author (which still feels vain to me), and letters to businesses to host a book signing or speaking engagement, and I really do understand how it can all be so very overwhelming to the point of wanting to throw in the towel and letting the book speak for itself and hope Ron Howard or Spielberg come across it and think, “Hey, this would make a great movie,” and thusly launch my writing career.

The truth is, as I have been told, marketing is a marathon not a sprint.  I hate running!

I still long for the days when I could spend my free time writing.  That has been a long time, unless you count proposal forms as leisurely writing.  I don’t.  Am I wrong in wanting everything to find me? I am the only one who thinks this? I’m sure I’m not so I won’t dawdle on that thought for very long, but it is exhausting; this phase after the publishing.  I’m ready to hire my son to handle all my social media updates as that is as time consuming as it can get.  Except that I love the interaction and have met some lovely people along the way, and in my world of introversion, social media is my rare form of extroversion.  It is way easier to be more exciting behind the screen of a computer.

Well, I have hit some milestones and landmarks that help me push through this marathon of pushing my book: my first book signing for a fellow co-worker who bought, “Be Still,” and “When I Thought I Was Tough.”  I hit the thousand mark in one month on my website www.TaniaLRamos.com.  I’ve had over 2500 reads on my very first book, “When I Thought I Was Tough.” And my book is now available at Barnes & Noble online in soft/hardcover, at Amazon in soft/hardcover and Kindle, and through many many more businesses online including Google books.  I still smile each time I see my book online.  It is surreal and exciting.  It’s the figuring out where to go from here part that is hard.  As I have said many times before, I’m not a marketer and I always feel like I am doing it wrong.  Well, here’s to selling 250 books by Fall.  Wish me luck.  And if you do buy the book, send me a picture, I’d love to post some pics from people I have met along the way, to my website.  Thank you all for your kind words and keep following for the next chapter in this wonderful publishing venture…

2 responses to “Where To Go From Here

  1. I totally feel you Tania! The marketing side of things is so time consuming. I’ve been making time to write recently and splitting my spare time between marketing (or interacting would be a better term to use) and actually writing. When one gets too much, do some of the other. But it’s so very hard to sell books! We all need a break, and to keep our names getting noticed by people in order to pique their interest.

    I continue to wish you good luck!

  2. I’ve said it before, but again, “You are Amazing”.

Leave a Reply

