Writers Must Find Their Way Out

I was eating a plum yesterday and noticed a small hole on one side.  A worm perhaps.  And it made me think how it pertained to writing or just following that big ol’ dream.  You see, most people think the worm is trying to get into the fruit, but that just isn’t the case.  In fact, a fly laid an egg (larva) on a flower which turned into the fruit–and a quite cozy nesting place for a birthing worm.  So the worm is born confined in the fruit and burrows its way out and there we have a worm hole.

How does it pertain: Simple.  I’ve spent days now, so far as weeks bleeding into months, working on promoting, publicizing, and marketing my book.  Truth be told, and makes me sad, but I’ve spent more time in post production than I have in writing the book.  For me, writing is the easy part.  Give me some free days, a laptop, venti iced green tea with no sweetener from Starbucks, and a good story line in a country song and I will be running out the gate.  For me, as a writer, I feel like a have left my baby on a budding flower waiting for it to be born.  But instead of it growing and flying away and showing itself to the world, it has been engulfed by the fruit.  I wish I could say it was the fruit of my labor but that metaphor doesn’t fit here.

Fruit in this case is the world of self publishing: the press releases, the media kits, the connections, the bottomless pit of money to be dished out, the marketing, promoting, and advertising that all keep my book hidden until I learn to devour the obstacles and push through.  Then, and only then, will my creation be free to show itself to the world.  And maybe some people will look at it and see a disgusting blowfly, but I’m hoping the majority will see a huge, elegant butterfly and stand in amazement while thinking, “This was worth the wait.”

I have met so many wonderful people through my course as a writer and it has only been a year.  I have learned so much.  I can only hope that somewhere, somehow I have been an inspiration to someone struggling to keep moving forward.  I don’t know if I’ll sell one or a million.  I don’t know if Iuniverse is a scam and I’ll never see my royalty checks.  What I do know is that I have loved this journey, every minute of it, and I will continue to write and self publish if that is my only option, because I love writing and I want the world to hear the stories that have been given to me.  I will not waste my gift any longer.  I have kept it cocooned away far too long.  Please, don’t waste your gift or someone else will take it from you.

4 responses to “Writers Must Find Their Way Out

  1. Awesome post. It inspired me!

  2. Congratulation and wish you all the best on your journey.

  3. Let your light shine for all to see the wonderful gift god has given you. Don’t hide it under a bush (fruit)

Leave a Reply

