A Day Without A Cellphone

My cellphone died yesterday at approximately 1145am.  Much too early, especially when I am scheduled at work until 1030 pm.  Yelling at cellphone, “Do you even comprehend how much can go wrong in one day?!” Oh, I found out all too quick.  First things first: A boyfriend who thinks you are mad him will flip out when the last text message he receives (after knowing the phone was charged all night) is, “phone dying. C U tonight.” And here I was thinking I was being polite ad courteous in sending that message.  Boy was I wrong.  At 11 pm, when I got a little charge in the van, I am hit with a reply from 1345 pm (145 for you non-military, non-medicals) that says, “If you’re mad at me just ssay so.”

ARGH!!!!!

I also missed a call from Iuniverse and no message was left.  For those just joining in, Iuniverse is where my book is being published.  So image my dismay and inner turmoil when I have no clue what the call was about! Double argh!!! And I realize I am beginning to sound like a pirate with an upset stomach.

But worse than all that! Wait for it . . . the police show up at my home and hold my son at bay for a burglary in process because he didn’t know the alarm code and the alarm company could not reach my cellphone!!! Seriously? With all my infinite writing imagination that spans galaxies, I could not make up a better cellphoneless day of tragic events.  And I start quoting the Prayer of Serenity, “God grant me the knowledge to…always carry a cellphone charger, so I can have a day of serenity.” That is how it goes, right?

At the end of the day, nobody was arrested, no relationships hit the rocks, and no message was ever retrieved from Iuinverse.  Well 2 out of 3 isn’t all bad.  Off to work again, cellphone charger in hand . . . reminding myself  it is to charge the phone not a noose…though it sometimes feels that way. AND I WILL, I WILL, I WILL write this weekend…ish.

5 responses to “A Day Without A Cellphone

  1. Oh, matey! Sounds like a day in the life. That only happens to me on days I forget the thing on my desk…any other day, there are no calls, no one loves me and nothing is going on. I feel your pain.
    xb.

    • Exactly! If my cellphone had worked, none of that would have happened. I think it’s life just making sure I can still handle a heaping helping of stress. And I can…but the Nyquil helped too.

  2. I know the feeling, this happened to me several times, and just like you I thought of all the bad things that will/could happen. It’s so funny… After the fact, of course. 🙂

    • I tell my family that they are so lucky I do not freak out over everything. After a day like that some people would have been swinging from the rafters. I just shake my head and say, “not this time.”

  3. Oh Goodness!! Yeah, I guess being a nurse–and a mom–helps on days like this. I’d be contemplating how much good it would do to jump from my 2nd floor balcony…and turning it into a post!

Leave a Reply

