Point of View rewrite

     It’s Sunday night and I’m anxious.  I’m confused … which is first person point of view. Yay me.  I’ve spent the weekend studying points of view and my oh my there are so many: first person, second person, third person, omniscient, limited omniscient, subjective, objective … Holy cow! No wonder I went so terribly wrong in my point of view, and no wonder editor’s charge so much to correct this mistake.  I went to school for two years to be a nurse, but editor’s went to school for four or more.  You come to your own conclusion there.  So, I rewrote a total of five chapters in my book from what I believe is the third-person, omniscient, subjective point of view, but I’m certain my editor will laugh his butt off and say I’m pretty far off base.  Maybe I should have pursued my writing degree at UCLA like I once said I would.

     On a very good note, I am glad I am forced to look back at this novel, because I now see where I can interject some subtle symbolism into the story.  And big thanks to my project editor who explained all that to me in great detail.  A book is more than simple words and characters put into print for the world’s enjoyment (or the part of the world in my case that likes general fiction), it is about tantalizing a reader’s mind with subtleties so the subconscious picks up on things they didn’t realize were there.  Example: everyday Sam wears old, wrinkled khakis and a white t-shirt, this point comes up several times, then at a pinnacle in the story he is said to wear a perfectly pressed pin striped suit.  In that instance the reader would pick up that he has somehow changed, and from the looks of it, for the better.  Okay, these are the subtleties that I am working on, and there are so many places for me to sneak them in.

Insert advice: after you write your book, put it on a shelf for a week, if you can’t think of any changes then submit it, but odds are, you’ll have changes.

     Until I can come up with the money to edit I am stuck in creative writing purgatory.  Now that these errors in point of view have come to my attention, I no longer feel this book is ready for publication.  I would do myself a disservice to let it be printed so raw, and my readers wouldn’t feel the full emotion of my characters.  I also took to reading a few pages of other authors and here is what I have discovered: rules are meant to be broken when it comes to creative writing.  Also, the more famous you are the more rules you can break.  In my own defense, I am self-publishing, so I can simply tell the editor to send it in to press and ignore all the rules and advice, but I have to ask myself: Would I grow as a writer?  As someone with no schooling in writing, it is most beneficial that I at least learn the basics.  After that I can be a stubborn writer and throw the words, “creative rights,” around if I chose.  My brother laughed and told me not to give in to the man or be a sell-out, but right now is not the time for me to hold my own personal, “Occupy the Arts,” campaign.  Maybe I’ll do that later.

     I find out tomorrow if I get the money to continue with developmental edit, but I also found some great grants out there so I will look into those, too.  I was told if this was something I really wanted to do then I would look for the funding until I had it.  Right now I feel like a pregnant mother ready to give birth and there are no freaking hospitals around to do it!!! Come on people, even Mary was offered a stable.  I have a book to give birth to and in my own opinion it is Awe-some.  Insert shameless plug for, “Be Still,” by Tania L Ramos… Anyway, I’m anxiously awaiting the birth of my book and hopefully the start of a new career.  Until then, I will continue to learn and find ways to raise the money to see this dream through.  I’m still looking into this ad thing.  I think it has real merit.  More tomorrow on whether or not I am still stuck in limbo, which, by the way, is part of the basis of my book in a fictional perspective and different scenario, of course.  Just a little morsel to give to the masses, or the two people who have followed this blog.  Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

